UBC is committed at the highest level to recognizing the accomplishments of its outstanding researchers, both through an internal recognition program and by encouraging quality applications to prestigious external awards and prizes.

These duties are maintained by the Faculty Research Awards Committee and the President's Advisory Committee - Major Awards, respectively. If you have inquiries about either of these committees, please contact the Faculty Awards Coordinator at (604) 822-6010.

Faculty Research Awards Committee

The Faculty Research Awards Committee is composed of UBC faculty members who adjudicate internal awards and prizes that recognize excellence in research by UBC faculty members in a variety of disciplines.

Based on the recommendations of this committee, the Vice President Research & International decides the winner of each internal award. Two subcommittees consider applications and nominations for scholarly activity in the arts and humanities, and the sciences and applied sciences, respectively.

The 14-member committee is comprised of a non-voting chair (appointed by the Vice-President Research & International) and members on each subcommittee representing the arts and humanities, business, and the sciences and applied sciences. Members serve a three-year term. 

Committee Membership

Member Department/Unit Sub-committee
Carrier, Brenda (ex officio) VP Research & International Office (Coordinator)
Danielson, Dennis English (Chair)
Ercikan, Kadriye Educational & Counselling Psychology, Special Education Arts, Humanities, Education, Business
Harrison, Kathryn Political Science Arts, Humanites, Education, Business
Knight, Thomas Sauder School of Business Arts, Humanites, Education, Business
Kruk, Edward School of Social Work Arts, Humanities, Education, Business
McIlroy, Brian Theatre & Film Arts, Humanities, Education, Business
Menzies, Charles Anthropology Arts, Humanities, Education, Business
Davies, Hugh School of Population & Public Health Applied Science, Science, Medicine
Gleave, Martin Urologic Sciences Applied Science, Science, Medicine
Fraser, Ailana Mathematics Applied Science, Science, Medicine
Isaccson, Michael Civil Engineering Applied Science, Science, Medicine
Maddison, Wayne Botany/Zoology Applied Science, Science, Medicine
Saewyc, Elizabeth School of Nursing Applied Science, Science, Medicine

President’s Advisory Committee - Major Awards

The President’s Advisory Committee – Major Awards provides advice to the President regarding nominations for major external research awards - such as the Killam, Gairdner, Sloan, Trudeau Foundation, Steacie and other major Canadian and international prizes - and to improve the success of UBC faculty members in these competitions.

The Committee reports to the President and Vice-Chancellor. The Chair is appointed by the Vice-President Research & International. A representative from each faculty is appointed by the appropriate Dean, and one representative is selected by the Association of Emeriti Professors.

Visit the President's Office website to view meeting minutes for this committee.

Committee Membership

Name Title
  Dr Natasha Affolder Associate Professor and Associate Dean Research and International, Law  
  Ms Brenda Carrier Faculty Awards Coordinator, VP Research & International Office (Secretary)  
  Dr Darren Dahl Senior Associate Dean, Faculty & Research, Sauder School of Business  
  Dr. Helene Cote Associate Professor, Medicine  
  Dr Judith Hall Professor Emerita, Medicine  
  Dr. Beth Haverkamp Associate Professor, Associate Dean Graduate Programs & Research, Education  
  Dr David Kitts Professor, Associate Dean Research, Land and Food Systems  
  Dr Darrin Lehman Professor, Arts (Chair)  
  Dr Gail Murphy Professor and Associate Dean of Research, Science  
  Dr James Olson Professor and Associate Dean of Research, Applied Science  
  Dr Cindy Prescott  Professor and Associate Dean Graduate Studies & Research, Forestry  
  Dr Edward Putnins    Professor and Associate Dean of Research & Graduate/Post-Graduate Studies, Dentistry  
  Dr Michael Richards Professor and Associate Dean of Research, Arts  
  Dr Brian Rodrigues Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences  

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Office of the Vice President Research & International
111-6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2
Tel (604) 822-1995
Fax (604) 822-6295

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia