Dr. John W. Hepburn, FRSC

Vice President Research & International

Dr. John HepburnJohn Hepburn was born in Hamilton, Ontario, and was educated at the University of Waterloo (BSc, 1976), University of Toronto (PhD, 1980), and University of California Berkeley (NATO Postdoctoral Fellow, 1980-82). He began his academic career back at the University of Waterloo, where he was appointed an Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Physics in 1982, and ultimately Chair of Chemistry in 1998.

In 2001, he moved to the University of British Columbia as a Professor of Chemistry and Physics & Astronomy, and Head of Chemistry. He became Dean of Science in 2003, and Vice President, Research in 2005. The international portfolio was added to John’s list of responsibilities in August 2009.

He has been a Fellow of the A.P. Sloan Foundation, a Foreign Research Fellow of the CNRS (France), and a Canada Council Killam Fellow. He has been awarded the Rutherford Medal and the Noranda Prize and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the American Physical Society, and the Canadian Institute for Chemistry.

In addition to his work at UBC, John Hepburn currently serves as a Board member for numerous organizations. 

Dr. Helen M. Burt

Associate Vice President Research & International

Helen BurtDr. Burt was born in Manchester, England and obtained her B. Pharm. (Hons) from the University of Bath and her Ph.D in Pharmaceutics from UBC. She is the Angiotech Professor of Drug Delivery in the UBC Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and began her term as Associate Vice President Research & International in 2011.

Dr. Burt's major research efforts are supported by grants from CIHR and NSERC and involve the development of polymer-based drug delivery systems for controlled and localized drug delivery. She has published over 140 peer-reviewed papers and 8 patents.

She has been the recipient of several teaching prizes and research awards, including the UBC Killam Teaching Prize and Killam Faculty Research Prize, NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation, CSPS Award of Leadership in Canadian Pharmaceutical Sciences and YWCA Woman of Distinction Award for Science, Research and Technology. 

She is a founding scientist in the Centre for Drug Research and Development (CDRD), a member of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and has served on the Board of Directors of the Provincial Health Services Authority.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Office of the Vice President Research & International
111-6328 Memorial Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z2
Tel (604) 822-1995
Fax (604) 822-6295

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia